Porter Recipe

Suggest or request any recipes for a particular beer or style of beer. Post all recipes here, including kit, partial mash and all-grain.

Porter Recipe

Postby jords » Saturday Mar 26, 2011 10:54 am

Morning all

Am about to put this down and was hoping for a few thoughts from you all.

This is my first time using brewmate and using specialty grains.

Robust Porter

Dry Malt Extract - Light - 2.5 kg
Caramunich 1 - 0.5 kg
Crystal Dark (not in brewmate so I used Crystal 90) - 0.5 kg
Black Malt - 0.2 kg
Carapils - 0.2 kg

35g Fuggles Flowers (7.7%) 60 min boiling
10g Fuggles Flowers (7.7%) 15 min from flame out

Flowers aren't in brewmate either, had a quick google which suggests that dried flowers are about 10% less potent. Not convinced it'll matter too much in this case.

Safale SO4

OG - 1061
Projected FG - 1015
%Alc - 6%
38.4 IBU

Am I adding too much crystal? I don't want a really acrid flavour from the Black Malt, have I used little enough to aviod it?

Any input would be much appreciated guys.

Cheers,
Jords
jords

Re: Porter Recipe

Postby warra48 » Saturday Mar 26, 2011 12:41 pm

This recipe looks rather unbalanced to me.
Effectively you have 1.2 kg of Crystal/Cara malts. Personally, I wouldn't go over about .5 kg all up.
Black Malt will tend to leave a fairly acrid sharp taste. .2 kg is way beyond my personal threshold of comfort.

I've only ever brewed a Porter once before, and that was back in my extract days. This is the recipe I used:

23 litre batch OG 1.053 FG 1.019
3 kg Light Liquid Malt Extract
227 gr Chocolate Malt
470 gr Medium Crystal
113 gr Black Malt
The last 3 were steeped for 60 minutes at 69°C, drained, and rinsed with some 80°C water. This was a bit of a training run into mashing, as my next batch was my first AG batch.

18 gr Horizon (9.3%) 60 minutes
23 gr Willamette (4.6%) 40 minutes
15 gr Willamette (4.6%) 20 min

WLP001 yeastcake