Novice needs help (wheat beer recipe)!!

Suggest or request any recipes for a particular beer or style of beer. Post all recipes here, including kit, partial mash and all-grain.

Novice needs help (wheat beer recipe)!!

Postby pittsy » Wednesday Jan 04, 2012 11:20 pm

Hi all, I've been reading lots of your posts and been finding it really helpful , I'm new to home brewing ( apart from some early brews some 22 odd years ago when i was 15 ) and i was hoping i could get some help with a recipe for some wheat beer brewing. I've just kegged (plastic) a Muntons wheat beer and since then would like to improve my recipe, I'm about to use a Thomas Coopers wheat beer in a 5 gallon fermenter and id like to use 500g of spray dried wheat malt also poss 300g to 500g of spray dried light malt and also brewing sugar not sure if i should use between 300g or 500 g of this and also I'll be using some Munich yeast ,i will also be fermenting at around 21c to get that bubble gum smell/taste and finally is it best to use brewing sugar or cane {table) suger when bottling (plastic kegging ) . Any help on any of this would be very welcome !! Before i start i'll wait for your replies , cheers beer drinkers
many thanks, Mark, happy brewing in the Westmids.
pittsy

Re: Novice needs help (wheat beer recipe)!!

Postby Oliver » Friday Jan 06, 2012 3:46 pm

Hi Mark, and welcome.

Also, welcome back to brewing!

I haven't used the Coopers wheat beer kit before, but the recipe sounds fine. You might try a search, which turned up several useful threads for me when I entered german wheat beer, including:

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=6809
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=8851
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=8724
There were heaps of others ...

I assume the Munich yeast to which you refer is the Dansar Munich Wheat Beer Yeast? The yeast that comes with the Coopers kit is a wheat yeast so there's no harm sticking with that and saving the Dansar for another brew.