Super Cider

. . . and alcoholic or non-alcoholic beverages other than beer and spirits. Post discussion on recipes, methods, equipment and the like about these drinks here.

Super Cider

Postby Mewshew » Saturday Jan 14, 2006 9:53 pm

I've got a B'day coming up and as I'm new to Hbing I thought it would be fun to brew up a ale for the boys and a cider for the ladies. However, the cider was expected to reach an a/c of about 3%. However, at the moment it's hovering around 7% and still going strong according to my hydromiter reading and the a/c equation provided on this site. I used a Black Rock Cider kit and did did everything as per the kits instructions (except that I boiled it down a little and added some about 300g of lactose as it's going to be 18/19/20 yeal old ladies drinking it and I figure they like their drinks a little sweet. Can you guys work out how this happened? I'm stumped.

Cheers,

- Jim

edit: just figured I should have posted this in the "making beer" section. Sorry fella's. I've enjoyed a few Sparkling Ales tonight. Reckon I might go another.
Mewshew

Postby gregb » Sunday Jan 15, 2006 5:36 am

The Black rock cider kit, plus 300g Lactose. What else went in, what volume did you top the fermenter up to?

Cheers,
Greg
gregb

Postby Mewshew » Sunday Jan 15, 2006 9:38 pm

I also added 1kg of Coopers Brewing sugar (not sure why I chose that one..)

Filled it up to 23ltrs as per the instructions on the kit.
Mewshew

Postby Oliver » Sunday Jan 15, 2006 10:07 pm

Mewshew,

There's no way 300g lactose (which won't add any alcohol), 1kg of brewing sugar and the can of concentrate topped up to 23 litres will give you more than about 4.5%.

What makes you think it's at 7%? What was the original gravity taken with the hydrometer? And what is it now?

Oliver
Oliver
Administrator

Postby Mewshew » Monday Jan 16, 2006 1:07 am

OG: 1060
FG: 1010

1060 - 1010 / 7.46 = 6.7