1st time brewer; alcoholic GB

. . . and alcoholic or non-alcoholic beverages other than beer and spirits. Post discussion on recipes, methods, equipment and the like about these drinks here.

1st time brewer; alcoholic GB

Postby DrZ0b » Wednesday Mar 11, 2009 1:12 pm

Hi, I've never brewed beer before (or anything else for that matter).

I want to brew an alcoholic ginger beer that is sweet and tangy, not as sweet as Stones alcoholic ginger beer, but not a dull-lager tasting ginger beer like Bluetounge.

I thought about buying the Coopers Home Brew Kit because the fermenter got a good review and it's easily available. As I'm a complete beginner I was going to buy the Coopers Ginger beer concentrate and then boil up fresh and aged ginger, a couple of whole lemons, some cloves, cinnamon and some honey.

Is this a good idea?
Will I stuff everything up if I add too much honey?
Should I forget about the Coopers GB can and try to make my own recipe or is it more prudent to just use the kit to begin with?
DrZ0b

Re: 1st time brewer; alcoholic GB

Postby Bum » Wednesday Mar 11, 2009 1:35 pm

Hey,

I'm pretty much in the same boat as you - except one GB further advanced. I was really underwhelmed by the Cooper's GB tin - really nasty chemical aftertaste. I'm currently making a GB from scratch (see here: viewtopic.php?f=12&t=9024) and it basically seems about as difficult as all the extra stuff you were planning on doing to the kit.

I have the Coopers fermenter and have no complaints.

Good luck with it!
Bum

Postby DrZ0b » Wednesday Mar 11, 2009 2:05 pm

Thanks Bum, I read your post, and actually your problems made me feel that I need to make the kit version rather than my own recipe in case I make a mistake. I was hoping that by adding more flavours to the Coopers Can I would get something ok but now I think I'll follow your brewing adventures and hope to learn from you success/mistakes.
DrZ0b

Postby Bum » Wednesday Mar 11, 2009 2:12 pm