coopers gingerbeer sugar help

. . . and alcoholic or non-alcoholic beverages other than beer and spirits. Post discussion on recipes, methods, equipment and the like about these drinks here.

coopers gingerbeer sugar help

Postby jazsam » Saturday Jun 27, 2009 12:41 pm

ok I have a can of coopers gb laying about ,Ive read a few post saying how crap it is
but I've decided to give to give it a crack anyway.
I know what ingredients I want to use but my main problem is with sugar.
I have a 1kg of raw sugar laying around and 1 kg of dextrose.
Ive read on other posts where fellow brewers used 2 kg sugar with the kit
Can I substitute my raw sugar and dextrose with the coopers kit?
I've never used raw sugar or dextrose before so I'm unsure of there strength/ratio.
also do Istill need to prime the peta bottles with the usual 2 carb drops?
any thoughts/changes appreciated

my recipe

23 litre brew
Coopers GB can
1kg raw sugar
1kg dextrose
juice and rind of 4-6 lemons
500g of fresh grated ginger
1/2 cinnamon stick
1 vanilla bean
3 cloves
jazsam

Re: coopers gingerbeer sugar help

Postby Bum » Saturday Jun 27, 2009 3:01 pm

I've recently put down a similar brew. One main difference though is that I've used a kilo of raw sugar and a kilo of dark brown sugar. The ferment is basically irrevocably stuck at 1024. No amount of swirling and heat applied will get it restarted. I'm thinking such a large amount of dark brown sugar is the culprit but you may want to back off on your fermentables just in case. It'd be the dex I'd back off on, leave in the full amount of raw sugar.

Prime as usual but remember that GBs generally take longer to carb than beer.
Bum

Postby jazsam » Sunday Jun 28, 2009 3:20 pm

thanks mate, I wasn't to sure with the dextrose.
I might reduce it 500g .
jazsam

Postby jazsam » Saturday Jul 11, 2009 11:12 am

ok just an update and a question.
I've put the gb down and it's been bubbling away nicely.
my question is