1st try at apple cider??

. . . and alcoholic or non-alcoholic beverages other than beer and spirits. Post discussion on recipes, methods, equipment and the like about these drinks here.

1st try at apple cider??

Postby doubledogdave » Friday Nov 13, 2009 5:47 pm

HI, I just put together my first apple cider. And after reading through some of the different receipes on the forum
I thought I would try to be a bit adventurous. This is only my third brew in total so i'm still new to the home brew scene (but loving it).
Could anyone tell me if I went a bit overboard?
this is the mix -

1 Briglow apple cider kit
500g Dextrose
2.4 ltr apple juice
2.4 ltr apple & pear juice
500 grams of honey
1 stick of cinnimon
4 cloves
1/4 tsp nutmeg
*also added a extra bit of yeast nutrient
Starting Sg 1.049

any feed back would be great!!!

Cheers, Dave.
doubledogdave

Re: 1st try at apple cider??

Postby jello » Friday Nov 13, 2009 8:27 pm

Well it won't be lacking in flavour that's for sure. Will be interested to see how turns out for you. Keep us posted.
Jeff.
jello

Postby Bum » Friday Nov 13, 2009 9:09 pm

doubledogdave wrote:any feed back would be great!!!

My first comment then would be that the best time to ask for this would be before you put it down.

My second would be that the Brigalow kit is not entirely well regarded but I think that generally people who put that kit down don't use all the extras you have so it should turn out pretty good. Make sure you let us know - it certainly looks nice to me. Only change I might suggest would be to just use all apple juice instead of a kit. Slightly more expensive but definitely worth it.
Bum

Postby Anna » Tuesday Nov 17, 2009 9:09 am