Reducing Beer Haze

Methods, ingredients, advice and equipment specific to all-grain (mash), partial mash (mini mash) and "brew in a bag" (BIAB) brewing.

Reducing Beer Haze

Postby Trough Lolly » Thursday Feb 21, 2008 9:52 am

G'day all,
Over the last 12 to 18 months, I've noticed an increase in haze, and particularily chill haze, in my beers. Now whilst I do admit to use a variety of base malts, including Weyermann Pilsner malt that is known to produce haze, I decided to modify some of my brewday processes to see if it's me as well as the malt that's responsible for the beer haze - and I thought I'd share my findings.

Firstly some background: For those who'd like some more info on finings and cold conditioning, you may wish to click on an earlier post of mine...

Now call me crazy but I do keep detailed notes on every step I take on each and every brewday - I've been keeping a log since 1995 and it's the best way I've found to eliminate or find the sources of subsequent faults in my brews. Admittedly, I didn't take terribly comprehensive notes when I did kit brewing, but it's a habit that's good to have.

My last two batches were my SNPA clone and an IPA. I brewed the SNPA clone first, racked it to brighten in a secondary fermenter and then repitched the IPA onto the US-05 slurry (so I suppose it's a USIPA!!). I brewed both beers in almost exactly the same way; same single infusion mash, same mash duration, same mashout/sparge temps and volumes. The thing was that the mashout temps were substantially lower than what I've done before. I used to use 82C sparge water and for these two brews, the sparge temp was 76C.

Another variable was mashtun volume - Because I'm doing 23L batches or thereabouts, and I have been using a 10 Gallon mashtun, I can add the entire sparge volume on top of the mash as a combined mashout / sparge rest and without stirring, I can simply runoff the mash until clear and then drain in one go to the kettle.