Partial Mash Bitter Diacetyl Rest Query

Methods, ingredients, advice and equipment specific to all-grain (mash), partial mash (mini mash) and "brew in a bag" (BIAB) brewing.

Partial Mash Bitter Diacetyl Rest Query

Postby jab » Wednesday Jun 17, 2009 3:40 pm

Hey everyone, put this one on today.

2kg Ale Malt
1kg Light Dry Malt
230g Light Crystal Malt
120g Caramalt
20g Amarillo @ 8.6% (60min)
15g EK Goldings @ 4.7% (30min)
15g EK Goldings @ 4.7% (1min)
1 x Whirlfloc Tablet (15min)
1 Package Wyeast 1968 London ESB
Mash at 67 Degrees for 1 hour. Ended up making it a 23L batch to get the SG I wanted. Fermenting in my fridge at 20 Degrees.
OG 1038

I smacked the Wyeast package a few hours before pitching it into the wort. Ive been reading about that particular yeast on craftbrewer and it says that diacetyl production is noticeable and a thorough rest is necessary. I have never done a rest or used this yeast before and I am wondering how you know when you are at the right stage in fermentation and what temperature you raise it to. Also wondering what peoples experiences have been with this yeast. Any help would be very much appreciated.

Cheers, Jim
jab

Re: Partial Mash Bitter Diacetyl Rest Query

Postby warra48 » Wednesday Jun 17, 2009 5:38 pm

I did 3 batches in a row with this yeast, but I had mine in the fermenter for 2½ weeks on each occasion, but controlled the temperature to no more than 19ºC.
I'm drinking some now where I used this yeast, and I can't say I notice any particular diacetyl character.

I imagine if you ferment warmer, and bottle after say only a week, then you might notice it.
It's a yeast which seems to like to get on with the job early on in its life, but which will continue to work very slowly after the initial burst.

I'd say, just give it enough time to clean up after itself, and you'll be fine. No harm in leaving it in primary for up to 3 weeks.

One other thing, this yeast really floculates in the fermenter like no other I've ever seen.