Maturation Time

Talk about methods, equipment and recipes for making brewed and distilled spirits at home.

Maturation Time

Postby BribieG » Wednesday Dec 08, 2010 5:07 pm

I rarely if ever drink spirits since nearly killing myself as a teenager on a bottle of scotch. They mostly taste like petrol to me, but I am partial to a boilermaker of Glenlivet chased down immediately by a cool Pilsner Urquell :)~
On that point I thought the whole idea of Scotch etc was to mature it oak for years?
BribieG

Re: Maturation Time

Postby Tipsy » Thursday Dec 09, 2010 7:16 am

I have no experience with this but from a bit of reading it seems the best results come from ageing your spirit on a small amount of oak for a long time compared to a large amount of oak for a short time.
Tipsy

Postby hirns » Thursday Dec 09, 2010 8:05 am

On a homebrew scale most use the oak shavings from old barrels. The greater surface area of the oak shavings or chips meens that the flavour is imparted after only a few days. I let my spirit soak with the chips for a minimum of 14 days but it depends on your taste preferences. And after only 12 hours the spirit takes on a tea colour as the flavour is leached from the oak. I personaly don't believe that homebrew spirits need to "mature" other than to gain this oak flavour. If you've used a reflux still than your spirit is cut back from around 90% with distilled water. The 90% alcohol is twice as pure as most of the stuff you buy which is produced with pot stills which create roughly 40% alcohol(albeit) some run the spirit through the still twice to improve purity). The remaining impurities are removed with carbon treatment.

Others may disagree and may argue that some other aging reaction occurs over time. In my exerience friends that only drink 12yr Scotch as a minimum always say that mine is much better in flavour and smoothness.

You can also by the fake oak flavouring in a bottle.

Hirns
hirns

Postby BribieG » Thursday Dec 09, 2010 9:20 am