Filtering Beer

The ins and outs of putting your beer into kegs.

Filtering Beer

Postby fridgeman » Monday Nov 06, 2006 6:46 am

Hi guys, Have been looking over site in the last couple of days and it is awesome. 8) I am pretty new to the homebrew scene and the ideas in the sight are fantastic,(can't wait to get started on some decent beer). I make most of my brew in kegs and my question to you all is has anyone tried to filter their beer before putting it iinto a keg?
In the beginning there was man. Then there was beer
fridgeman

Postby Aussie Claret » Monday Nov 06, 2006 11:03 am

Yes,
Check out craftbrewer for the bits and pieces you need.

It is possible when filtering AG beers to be drinking within two weeks.
I do generally leave a little longer but grain to brain in two weeks is pretty good depending upon the type of beer.

Filtering and treatment with polyclar clears yeast and other trub plus any chill haze, leaving a beautiful bright beer.

AC
There's nothing wrong with having nothing to say - unless you insist on saying it. (Anonymous)
Aussie Claret

Postby fridgeman » Monday Nov 06, 2006 4:03 pm

Thanks aussie. Had a look at craftbrew but is in the wrong direction. I am a fridgy by trade and am fortunate enough to have obtained an under bar glycol chiller for next to nothing. Have been experimenting with differnt size water sediment filters to see if I can cold filter my beer through the chiller and then into the filter. Down to 5 micron filter with still not much success. Next step is try down to 1 micron. Bit unsure if this will take out all the yeast as I would prefer to still bottle some from each batch to keep for later on, will this effect secondary ferment if too much yeast is removed??
Cheers for the info.
fridgeman

Postby OldBugman » Monday Nov 06, 2006 4:15 pm

ME AM FRIDGY
OldBugman

Postby goq11k_76 » Tuesday Nov 07, 2006 6:03 pm

anyone using a filter like this one:

http://craftbrewer.com.au/index.php?pag ... &Itemid=29