Beer in Regulator

The ins and outs of putting your beer into kegs.

Beer in Regulator

Postby Ivesy » Monday Dec 18, 2006 6:22 pm

Hi all,

I was reading through the posts for tips on kegging and found a topic on beer going to the regulator. This has happened i think twice now. I am only new to kegging and havn't really done a successful brew. Is this why? Is my gas line contaminated? It dosn't seem to have an effect on my beer i purchased from the Beer Factory. Every brew i have done has an off taste. What should i do? I thought it might have been the cleaning process, but maybe its the reg. Any help would be appreciated.
Cheers!
Ivesy

Postby Ross » Monday Dec 18, 2006 9:53 pm

If you have beer in your regulator, you'll end up most likely infecting every brew. You need to take your regulator apart & give it a thorough clean. If you are lucky you won't have wrecked it, otherwise you'll have to replace everything inside it. All regulators should be fitted with a check valve to stop this happening - very cheap insurance. http://craftbrewer.com.au/index.php?pag ... &Itemid=29

cheers Ross
http://www.craftbrewer.com.au
Hops, Grain, Yeast & Brewing Supplies
Ross

Postby fragglerocks » Tuesday Dec 19, 2006 10:13 am

Have you connected the gas to the right valve on the keg? You may have been pushing gas through the beer line instead of the designated gas line?

Just a thought!

cheers.
fragglerocks

Postby Ivesy » Tuesday Dec 19, 2006 4:50 pm

Thanks for the replies. I might have connected the lines wrong but not too sure. Will give cleaning the reg. a go or take it back to brewshop and see what he thinks. At least now i know thats whats stuffing my beers. (i hope)
Should i change my lines as well?
Cheeers
Ivesy

Postby Schooner » Tuesday Dec 19, 2006 5:13 pm

Ross wrote: You need to take your regulator apart & give it a thorough clean

Highly disagree ,