Using finings and cold conditioning

The ins and outs of putting your beer into kegs.

Using finings and cold conditioning

Postby davelee123 » Tuesday Jan 08, 2008 11:58 pm

Hi all
this is my first attempt at kegging and as instructed by a friend I've added finings. What temperture is best for the wort when the finingare in? (I keep the wort in the fridge with adjustable stat to control temp)

I've read a few pieces on cold conditioning on here and was wondering what exactly that was and how to do it, I only have the one wort and one keg at present (very amaterish!!)

Any help would be great. :)
davelee123

Re: Using finings and cold conditioning

Postby timmy » Wednesday Jan 09, 2008 6:49 am

Hi,

CC'ing is basically dropping the temp of your finished product (i.e. your fermented beer) down to low temps (5 deg or so) and leave it for a period. That's all there is to it. It's generally better to do this after you've racked the beer into a second container as it takes the autolysis (yeast dying and leaving off flavours) out of the equation.
I've never used finings, but from what I understand they offer similar benefits.

HTH,

Tim
timmy

Postby davelee123 » Friday Jan 11, 2008 11:39 pm

Thanks for the advice tim,
dropped the temperature of the wort to about 3 degrees for a few days and it as clear as a bell now.

Having fun carbonating it, have done a bit of research and i think my first kegging attempt should have been a beer, but i'll let you know how it goes.

Cheers,
Dave
davelee123

Postby Kevnlis » Saturday Jan 12, 2008 7:54 am

Cold conditioning must be done at -1C for 3 days or so for it to really be effective. Honestly I do not bother with finings or cold conditioning. For me an amazingly clear beer does not taste any better than one that is cloudy. More often than not, it comes out perfectly clear anyway ;)
Prost and happy brewing!

O'Brien Gluten Free Beer
Kevnlis

Postby Pale_Ale » Saturday Jan 12, 2008 8:56 am