Weird yeast cake layer

General homebrew discussion, tips and help on kit and malt extract brewing, and talk about equipment. Queries on sourcing supplies and equipment should go in The Store.

Weird yeast cake layer

Postby melykabeer » Friday Dec 23, 2011 6:00 pm

Hi All

I have been brewing for a few years now and have never seen this happen. Should i be worried?

melykabeer

Re: Weird yeast cake layer

Postby melykabeer » Friday Dec 23, 2011 6:03 pm

I am using a harvested us-5 yeast from a previous brew a few weeks ago, fermenting @ 18'C. Reused about a tallie worth of yeast cake which settled down to about 1/3 in the fridge. I just shook it up and tipped it in.
melykabeer

Postby warra48 » Saturday Dec 24, 2011 4:28 am

Looks OK to me. Some of mine have looked like that and been OK.
I think a tallie of yeast cake is way too much, a cupful is sufficient.
You've just ended up with more trub than usual because of that, including hop residue from the tallie.

Have you tasted the beer? That's the real test.
warra48

Postby Oliver » Saturday Dec 24, 2011 8:37 am

warra48 wrote:Have you tasted the beer? That's the real test.

Exactly what I would have said if I'd got in first.

Cheers,

Oliver
Oliver
Administrator

Postby melykabeer » Saturday Dec 24, 2011 8:30 pm

Thanks Guys
I will taste it tomorrow and might give it a quick stir when i dry hop.

I wasnt sure if i was over pitching it was a tallie yes but was not pure yeast cake. I usually have 1-2l of beer sitting ontop of the yeast cake at the end. I gave it a good swirl then filled the tallie with the emulsion. After a few weeks in the fridge its settled to little less then half full. I have 2 tallies of it, if this beer turns out alright I might only pitch half next time then recap and save the rest.
melykabeer

Postby melykabeer » Monday Dec 26, 2011 3:55 pm

Tastes absolutely fine. Thanks :mrgreen:
melykabeer

Postby sly » Sunday May 06, 2012 11:21 pm

Sorry, I'm just a newbie with a newbie question.