Couple of questions to ask

General homebrew discussion, tips and help on kit and malt extract brewing, and talk about equipment. Queries on sourcing supplies and equipment should go in The Store.

Couple of questions to ask

Postby Awol71 » Saturday Aug 17, 2013 12:13 am

I've been brewing for about 10 years. All K&K stuff. A few hops here, a few grains there. Nothing special, but I love it. This year is the first time I have ever bulk primed. I put in 210g of dextrose for all the beer I've done lately. (10 batches, I only brew in winter in Brisbane. ) I do a few different beers.Light Pale Ales down to stouts. The problem I have is that the lighter the beer, the less carbonated it is. A nice dark roasty stout is about 1/3 creamy head. Which is what I reckon it should be. But the lighter the beer gets the smaller the head. It still feels carbonated in the mouth but is flat as a tack in the glass. The pales ales aren't too bad. The head lasts about half the drink. The mangrove jack blonde dry that I've done several of wont hold one at all. Whenever I've bottle primed each one in the years before they have all been perfect. Both in carbonation and retention. Using raw sugar.
The other thing on my mind is in these forums I've been reading that most brewers are not in favour of using kit yeasts. The only problem I have is that I don't have an old fridge or temperature controlling device to keep the fermentation at the required temperature that they reckon a better yeast should be at. (18-20 deg) I have a thermometer that I use to get the wort to roughly 20 deg then wrap it in a few towels and blankets for insulation. I only brew during winter up here when the temperature allows me.(and the missus) What yeast would work at a bit higher temperature that would improve the beer.