Coopers Lager with Saflager yeast

General homebrew discussion, tips and help on kit and malt extract brewing, and talk about equipment. Queries on sourcing supplies and equipment should go in The Store.

Coopers Lager with Saflager yeast

Postby Anna » Monday Jun 15, 2009 3:43 pm

With the Sydney temperature getting so cold lately I've just put two Coopers kits on using Saflager S-23 instead of the yeast that came with the cans. One is coopers Draught and the other Coopers Lager. They will be fermenting (in the second bedroom) at about 10C (at night) to around 17C during the day. My question is - after bottling, what temperture should they be carbonated at? And for how long? Will I need to heat them?
Anna

Re: Coopers Lager with Saflager yeast

Postby Thyraeus » Monday Jun 15, 2009 4:15 pm

Hi Anna, I'm no expert, but I'd be concentrating on keeping that daytime temp as low (and as close to the night temp) as possible! 10-12 is perfect for that yeast, but I suspect 7 degs is quite a daily shift for that yeast.

As a lager, I would keep them at that low temp as long as possible once bottled.

Other here know far more than me... hope that helps.
Thyraeus

Postby Anna » Tuesday Jun 16, 2009 12:20 pm

Thanks Thyraeus. Daytime temps in western Sydney are now lucky to get to 14C and brews are bubbling away happily. As BH (the consumer) doesn't seem to be a connoisseur by any stretch of the imagination and I'm sure only worries about the alcohol content, I don't think I'll worry too much about a few degrees ! Anna
Anna

Postby Thyraeus » Tuesday Jun 16, 2009 3:52 pm

I thinks it is hilarious how you brew (and care) he drinks (and apparently doesn't care too much!). Hope he knows what a lucky man he is?
Thyraeus

Postby Anna » Tuesday Jun 16, 2009 4:34 pm

ROFL!! Guess I'm just a sucker for good-looking blokes! (And brewing IS fun, eh?) :mrgreen:
Anna

Postby squirt in the turns » Wednesday Jun 17, 2009 4:23 pm