Dear Speedie

Other topics - beer-related or not.

Dear Speedie

Postby drsmurto » Friday Aug 20, 2010 10:58 am

Dear Speedie

We seem to have gotten off on the wrong foot.

Can we start again?

How about you introduce yourself to us, what you do for a living, your brewing journey and what beer you most like to brew and drink. You mentioned brewing awards so I'm happy to hear what success you have had over the years.

I mean this sincerely, not to try and make fun of you but to learn about you and from you.

Are you up for it? I'm extending an olive branch here, i hope you take it.

Yours sincerely
DrSmurto
drsmurto

Re: Dear Speedie

Postby warra48 » Friday Aug 20, 2010 11:02 am

Hear hear!
I'll endorse that.
warra48

Postby speedie » Saturday Aug 21, 2010 12:22 pm

Well DR
I started brewing years back now (1977) there wasn’t much about in those days as home brewing wasn’t as popular
My very first brew was done from a bag of stuff from k-mart I think it was called Andy cap after the comic character
It was foul and put me off brewing ,thinking back now I probably contributed to its failure what with little knowledge in sanitation ,I persisted from there onto your can stuff coppers muttons etc
Bought extra unhopped liquid malt to add to things, after doing this for sometime started to buy 20 liter pails of coppers unhopped malt and basically experimenting with different combinations of hop yeast etc.became more interested in the art bought many books did heaps of reading about AG
Thought lets try it a have never looked back
Must admit to pouring a lot of brew down the drain in those early days, nothing beats experience
My first batches where 20litre brews you know what I mean the old plastic converted coopers pails into lauter tun, birco electric urns, glass carboy fementers etc
I then fabricated my 120 liter system out of an old inner tank from a stainless steel solar hot water system used it to teach myself and other how to brew