Newbie questions - Beer fridges, bottles etc

Homebrewers and beer lovers, use this forum to sell, give away and seek supplies and equipment. If you are selling something on eBay post a link here.

Newbie questions - Beer fridges, bottles etc

Postby morgenmuffel » Wednesday Feb 27, 2013 4:02 pm

Ok I have been brewing beer for about 5 years now, but as i average about 2 brews a year (yes i am that lazy) I am pretty much a beginner, although I am now up to around 6 a year, which is probably laughable by the standards of some.

Anyway I recently purchased someones beer kit they had given up on,
A beer fridge
5 swappa crates (Crates containing 12 750ml bottles each I don't know if you have swappas in Oz)
Brew vessel absolutely identical to the coopers one, but without the coopers embossed logo
and a couple of cappers etc

Anyway
How exactly do i use the fridge, dumb as it sounds, I am not quite sure what to do

I know i put the filled fermenter in there, Am i supposed to have the door open a little to breathe, or closed, how good is a fridge (obviously not working) at keeping the brew at a vaguely constant temperature. if the outside temp is fluctuating a bit, the fridge is in an outside shed that is uninsulated, so gets warm during the day and cools at night, as its summer I don't need a head pad

Bottles
I am clearly going to run out of empties soon, can wine bottles be used? I don't tend to drink wine, so embarrassingly I can't remember if the hole in the tops the same as for a beer bottle, but I may find them a bit easier to source.
I have used every stubbie i can get my hands on, except the twist top ones as i can't seem to get a good seal on them, is there a different type of cap for them or are they unusable.

Caps
I also got two bags of caps these have been stored in a shed for a few years at least by the look of the bags, should i biff them, or could i just drop em in the sterilising stuff and rinse them before using them?

Yes I am a tightarse with money