New to Spirits - Recopies? - General tips?

Talk about methods, equipment and recipes for making brewed and distilled spirits at home.

New to Spirits - Recopies? - General tips?

Postby Citris » Wednesday Jun 20, 2012 5:29 pm

Hello all

First of all, I am new to Spirit brewing, or homebrew altogether. I usully steam my mates homebrew beer, but I think its about time I started to pitch in. I am more of a spirits drinker however, and I thought since we are both have never made a batch of spirits, I would come on here and ask a few questions. Before I do, ill give you a little bit of an idea what I'm looking for, I am a Bourbon drinker, nothing fancy, I usually stick with Jim Beam just because its cheap, but I do like to try the more expensive bottles for something a little different. I will also like to make a bottle of 2 of vodka, for mixes for the girls.

Equipment:
* 30lt Urn or Pot from HBS
* POT top (Ima say thingie haha)
* Fermenter
* Glass Decanter (Jug)
Its actually a kit from the HBS so I't should have everything if I'm missing anything important here.

Now onto the questions. First up, I am looking at a POT Distil, I know a lot of people thing (And are probably right) that the reflux is better all round, But as far as I can understand, POT is better for Bourbon style spirits, and you can double distil for vodka style spirits. I will be getting a POT Distil, mainly because its cheaper, but I would like to know what people think;
1. Do you loose a lot more alcohol compared to reflux?
2. Is the % a lot lower even after a second distil?