How to get secondary fermentation temp after bottling.

General homebrew discussion, tips and help on kit and malt extract brewing, and talk about equipment. Queries on sourcing supplies and equipment should go in The Store.

How to get secondary fermentation temp after bottling.

Postby Damn » Monday May 14, 2012 12:02 pm

Newbie here again. Still planning my first brew. I'm aiming to make my brew in the basement of my place which has a temp flux of 10 - 20. How do I keep the bottles warm after they have been bottled? Would I stack the on a heat pad and rotate them each day. Wrap them in blankets/Insulation? I do have a fridge down there that's off? I also see my neighbor has some insulation foam lying about which I'm sure he would part with. Interested in your thoughts.
Damn

Re: How to get secondary fermentation temp after bottling.

Postby Flux » Monday May 14, 2012 2:37 pm

Hi there matey, my advice is because you have a temp range below 20C down there which is the temp you want for aging, you should utilise the fridge that's not being used and get yourself one of these Image
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/DIGITAL-FRIDGE-THERMOSTAT-HOME-BREWING-9-38-Deg-C-Genuine-Brand-/270837508275#ht_4911wt_1044.
You'll eventually need one anyways when you start doing different beers and lagers.
Best of luck.
Flux

Postby Sonny » Monday May 14, 2012 4:34 pm

That thing is excellent value Flux, nice find!

But Damn, you haven't done your first brew yet. I suggest you make a few brews first, drink them, have fun and then see if you want to keep investing in gear.
You're obviously an 'All the gear" type of guy.
http://forums.bikeme.tv/
the copper said that he'd 'been waiting all day for me to come along', I replied I got here as faaaast as I could!
Sonny

Postby Bum » Tuesday May 15, 2012 7:05 am

Sonny wrote:But Damn, you haven't done your first brew yet. I suggest you make a few brews first, drink them, have fun and then see if you want to keep investing in gear.